Designer Stitch Patterns · Pattern Reinterpretation · The Fab Clique Fabric Shoppe

Relaxed Wide Leg Short Pants Using Solid Blue Stretch Denim

I really love Alyse Wide Leg Pant pattern made by Designer Stitch. I made several versions and here is the latest version I came up with.
For this relaxed version, I used blue stretch denim from The Fabclique Fabric Shoppe.  It is perfect for creating the latest trending looks in jeans, jackets, skirts, and children’s apparel.  It has 2 way stretch/25% stretch from selvage to selvage. Lightweight denim that contains 96%cotton and 4%spandex.

It has very good stretch; I would go ahead and  down one size my body measurement if I want them fitted. But this will be my relaxed ones and no need to down side the pattern.

Without further ado, let’s talk about the tweaks I made for this project.

1. Add 2 inches on front/back leg and pocket pattern pieces . (You can also see how short my leg pattern pieces are.)

IMG_5648.JPG

IMG_5645.JPG

img_5649.jpg
2. Follow the instruction given by DS. ( steps 1-8)
3. Tweak parts: (I used multipurpose zippers for this version. Use invisible zippers         if  you want to.) Install the zippers.

IMG_5576.JPG
4. Attach the waist band ( no facing/interfacing).

IMG_5577.JPG
5. Fold about 1.5cm like so.

IMG_5578.JPG
6. Fold  again and top stitch it. ( I hand stitched the inner side of my waist band.)

IMG_5579.JPG
7. Serge each leg. ( I used black thread for you to see it clearly.)

IMG_5581.JPG
8. Fold each leg , pin and baste to make sure they stay folded while working on the       side tabs .

IMG_5582.JPG
10. Cut 2 strips (1.5cm x 8.25inches) and make side tabs like so. The picture are pretty much self explanatory.

IMG_5583.JPG

 

IMG_5584.JPG

IMG_5585.JPG

IMG_5586.JPG

11.

IMG_5588.JPG

12.  IMG_5589.JPG

13. I used hook skirt hook and eye closure for my waist band.IMG_5591.JPG

14.  (I didn’t want those visible stitches on leg folds.) I went ahead  and hand                      stitched those  pinned areas.IMG_5590.JPG

That’s how I made them.

Here is my finished project.

IMG_5610.jpg

IMG_5598.jpg

There might be some odd methods or strange things I did but that’s totally fine to me. Anyway, I’m not a professional seamstress/dressmaker, I’m licensed to commit mistakes.

I hope this post helps. Thanks for visiting and reading my blog.

Enjoy sewing!

 

 

 

One thought on “Relaxed Wide Leg Short Pants Using Solid Blue Stretch Denim

Leave a Reply

